Back Sides

Back Sides

Release date: 11 April 2006

Release notes


A collection of rare B-sides from the All The Time In The World sessions.

This collection of songs could just as easily have been called “Near Misses.” It represents material that by a very slim margin, for one reason or another, didn’t make the cut for All The Time In The World.

But if these songs failed to find their way onto last-year’s “A” list, each one certainly continues to find its way into our hearts. These were heady times. We were single and broke, we had plenty of time to write, and we were reasonably certain we were going to conquer the world. That would all change, of course. But if you listen closely, you can still hear the sounds of four friends on the roof of a garage in Southern California, watching stars and making plans. You may also recognize that as we changed from naiveté to cynicism to a kind of tough-luck wisdom, so did the music. It’s all here on this CD. And for that reason, we think it is a much more revealing musical statement of who we are than All The Time In The World. Backsides might lack some of the polish of its older brother, but it has all the heart and then some.

These are songs to make you laugh and cry. We hope you enjoy them as much as we do.


  1. “This Ain’t No Techno” – 1:57
  2. “Phoebe” – 2:33
  3. “All She Needs To Know” – 3:58
  4. “Come Back” – 3:50
  5. “Odyssey” – 2:58
  6. “Don’t Give Up” – 3:19
  7. “Apology” – 4:24
  8. “Looking Up” – 3:47
  9. “Unbelievable” – 3:35
  10. “Peace Is Our Profession” – 4:53


The album was released as a digital download.